The Ivy League

 

 

 

IMG_0755

My  latest piece, and favorite piece I’ve done is titled The Ivy League and it has a beautifully bittersweet story behind it.

Three years ago on November 3rd, my friend Ivy took her own life. It was by far the most devastating event that has happened in my life. There isn’t a day that I don’t think about her and the impact her life has on mine.

This year as the day approach I immediately was angry at myself. Angry that I didn’t wear my bracelet in her memory for days at a time. Angry, that I couldn’t recall the sound of her voice on command. Just angry. Moving on sometimes can be a bittersweet because you want the pain to subside but you don’t want to forget. Memories are all I have now of our friendship.

Let me tell you about my friend. She was beautifully selfless, and a passionate disciple of God.  Her eyes used to light up when discussing her latest plan to end world poverty, and they glared in anger during discussions on the prevalent issue of sex trafficking around the world. Her eyes were soft and inviting, but full of conviction. For the pass three years when addressing her death, I struggled to find any shred of light. Ivy was a light in a dark world, the entire time I knew her she battled mental illness and strived to combat injustices.A few months ago Ivy’s mother pulled into my driveway and proceeded to tell me a story about her. She was an organ donor, and her family just received a call as to how Ivy’s body was used. Two people received their sight from her eyes. I’d like to think that means her vision of the world is still alive. This story made me realize all the light Ivy left behind.

This piece is 165  pairs of her eyes printed on white cloth in remembrance of her life and death. In my grieving I created a piece with the last things I have left of Ivy, photographs, and stories. The white represents her surrender to death, while her soft eyes represent the pieces she left behind for the world. Some eyes are printed faintly because at times it is hard to see any positives from this tragedy, but it is still there. This piece stares at you and beg for the audience to look into her eyes. It forces the viewers to look at themselves as she looks at you. Arranging them in cluster the statement is clear, Ivy will not be forgotten.

IMG_0745         IMG_0746       IMG_0749

IMG_0748

IMG_0747

IMG_0742

IMG_0744                                                                                       IMG_0740

IMG_0743

IMG_0741

IMG_0739

To learn about becoming an organ donor, and registering click here

 

 

Leave a Reply

