Strengthen me Sunday

I find Sundays extremely invigorating because  its a better Monday than Mondays are. Most people think Monday starts the week but in fact that’s Sundays job. People hate Mondays, but love Sundays. Its refreshing start, a cuddle day, a “Im going to finally start that novel” kind of day. Sundays are for brunches with the girlfriends, BBQ’s, and catching up on cleaning. Sunday is my favorite day of the week.

 

So Let’s start the week off right! I am going to post a “Strengthen me Sunday” post every week to start the week off on a positive note. So when Monday comes, it isn’t quite as dreadful.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I have been sitting on this verse for awhile now.  Writing it down over and over again, reading around it in the bible trying to fully grasp it. It seems so simple. The Lord stood with me and he strengthened me. What does it mean to strengthened by God? How does he strengthened me? When will I know that I have been strengthened?

strength·en

verb \ˈstreŋ(k)-thən, ˈstren(t)-\

: to make (someone or something) stronger, more forceful, more effective, etc.

Seems self explanatory right?  But what kind of strength is God referring to.

strength

noun \ˈstreŋ(k)th, ˈstren(t)th\

: the quality or state of being physically strong

: the ability to resist being moved or broken by a force

: the quality that allows someone to deal with problems in a determined and effective way

Let’s reread this verse.  The Lord stood by me, and made me more resistant to being moved or broken by force. He stood by me and made me physically strong. He stood by me and made me more able to deal with problems in a determined or effective way.

He did that just by standing by me.

stand

 verb \ˈstand\\

: to be in an upright position with all of your weight on your feet

 :to maintain one’s position <stand firm>

:  to hold a course at sea

:  to be in a position to gain or lose because of an action taken or a commitment made <stands to make quite a profit>

:  to tolerate without flinching :  bear courageously

:  to exhibit courage, strength, or calm especially in the face of adversity
The Lord stands by me. He tolerates without flinching, he can hold a course at sea, he puts himself in a position to gain or lose because of my actions. He exhibits courage, strength and calm especially in the face of adversity.
Now, this verse seems a to be a bit more than its looks.
The verses around it our extremely interesting as well:

16 At my first defense no one came to stand by me, but all deserted me. May it not be charged against them! 17 But the Lord stood by me and strengthened me, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles might hear it. So I was rescued from the lion’s mouth. 18 The Lord will rescue me from every evil deed and bring me safely into his heavenly kingdom. To him be the glory forever and ever. Amen.

        -2 Timothy 4:16-18

The lord will stand by you even when no one else will. He will stand by you and rescue you from evil. He will rescue you so you can  tell the world the message of his love. God will strengthen you so you can share that strength with others who have yet to accept it.

The Lord stands by you, he strengthens you, he will do that till your last day. But do people know that about you? Do people know that the God of the universe will stand by them to? He stands by you and strengthens you, so you can tell the world. Are you willing to do that?

So tomorrow, when you’re late in the morning, or you burnt your toast, and it starts to turn into a real Monday. Whisper to yourself, “but the Lord stood by me and strengthen me.”  Write it down and put it by your desk so when things get rough you’ll remember. He is standing by you right now.  Tell someone about that strength. Pray for God to stand by someone who is in need of strength. The Lord gave you strength, use it.

 

Leave a Reply

